## The Rationales "Dream of Fire"

Lushly crafted American songwriting, swirling with hooks, harmonies, & raw emotion from a 5 piece band brimming with talent, heart, vitality and guitars!

Formed by singer-songwriter/guitarist David Mirabella. The band features Mike Mirabella (Scamper) on drums, Sean Black (The Eines) on bass & backing



vocals, Chad Raleigh (Trucker Mouth) on guitar and the newest member, Dave Lieb (The Rudds) on keys & vocals, taking over for Matt Goldfield (who contributed keys and songwriting to "Dream of Fire").

Mike Mirabella, Chad Raleigh, Dave Lieb, David Mirabella, Sean Black Photo by Melissa Zeigler

## **Recent Press:**

"Their textured melodic rock, fizzes with an energy that becomes difficult not to wholeheartedly sink into." (Americana U.K.) :: "Blending the best pop sensibilities with incredibly catchy songs and rocking riffs... the Rationales dove headfirst into a set of vibrant, sparkling, power pop. All of the essential elements were perfectly in place: Sunny vocal harmonies; crunchy distorted guitars; a steady thumping bass; and stomp-your-foot-tothe-beat drums" (Dig Boston) :: "The show is sold out, and is packed. The Rationales sound especially great tonight. Everyone around me seems totally entranced by the music... I feel reminded that this is what it's all about...This is good rock 'n' roll. This is Boston." (The Noise) :: "One of the best songwriters in Boston, The Rationales have become one of the city's best live offerings.." (Ryan's Smashing Life)

## **Contact:**

For interview requests,MP3s or booking info, please contact David Mirabella at therationales@gmail.com or 978-766-5082 High-res images available at **therationales.com/press.html** 

## THE RATIONALES



1. Drunk all the Time 2. Radio\* 3. This Morning

4. Last Words 5. Let it Go

Available at iTunes, Bandcamp, CD Baby Release Date December 20, 2013 Key Tracks 1,3,5 FCC (Clean) RIYL Nada Surf, Wilco, Radiohead, The Wooden Sky All songs written by David Mirabella, (published by Beneath This Moon Music (BMI)) except "Let It Go" written by David Mirabella, Matt Goldfield, Mike Mirabella and Sean Black. Arranged by The Rationales & Ed Valauskas. Produced by Ed Valauskas and David Mirabella. Recorded & Mixed at Q Division, by Patrick DiCenso ("Radio" recorded and mixed by Joe Tooley.)

**The Rationales' latest EP, "Dream of Fire,"** features 5 tracks recorded with producer Ed Valauskas (Juliana Hatfield, Graham Parker) at Q Division Studios. The follow-up to 2011's LP "The Distance in Between" takes the band's strength as songwriters and adds a confident and skilled approach to performance, which allowed it to be recorded over a single 24 hours, mostly live, late in 2013. Meant as the first of 3 EPs to be released over the coming 18 months (that, when finished, will function as a cohesive LP) "Dream of Fire" features four entirely new recordings, plus the 2012 hit single "Radio."\*\*

**Tightly focused rock songs** like "Drunk all the Time," & "Radio" contrast with rootswashed songs like "Last Words," and the anthemic "Let It Go." "This Morning" is a manic, high tension track, which along with "Let It Go," allows the band to stretch out nearly into jam band territory at points. **Mirabella's lyrics** are a shade darker here, perhaps reflecting a turbulent period in the band's lineup and his personal experiences. Themes of resignation and living beyond one's comfort zone are central. As always though, it is the hope of pulling through & better days that inevitably come that keep the material from weighing too heavy.

\* RADIO (Originally released in 2012 as a single) Garnered the following accolades: - Named '2012 Standout Jam of the Year" (Boston Phoenix) - Voted '2012 Local Song of the Year' (WMWM Salem Radio Listeners Poll) - Appeared on several year end top 10 lists